Med school journey begins…

I have been meaning to write this blog for almost 2 months now. Gosh! I can’t believe it’s been 2 months already since med school started. I literally have no time to do anything besides studying and probably getting few hours of sleep.

To begin with, I had my white coat ceremony back in January which was exciting. I love the idea of having this ceremony before starting the medicine journey. It was very motivating and it finally got real when we read the oath. My brother was able to make it to the ceremony which was even better.

It’s a SGU ritual where students have to get their white coat pictures taken at the docks so obviously I had a little photo shoot there with my friends. After the ceremony we celebrated with a nice Italian dinner at Laluna which is actually my favorite restaurant in Grenada.

dsc06603-2
It’s official 🙂
dsc06662-1
Enter a caption
16299916_10210937541947399_1044763972375558785_o
My roommies came out to cheer for me!!!

I am going to to get into the seriousness about Term 1 later but before let me talk about all the fun I had before the term started and when I had a life. My semester had started in full swing when my brother arrived here but I was still able to spend some time with him and show him around.img_1402The first thing I did was obviously take him to the beautiful Grand Anse beach.  We relaxed on the beach for few hours and then went to Umbrellas which is by the beach as well and probably my second favorite place here. They serve American food and it’s pretty good for Grenadian standards. Actually the location of the restaurant is the best and it’s good spot for both tourists and students. We rented a car so my brother was able to drive to Carenage and explore St. Georges by himself while I was suffering 4 hours of lectures. We did wake up early one of the days to go to the beach which is  a 10 minute walk from my house. This beach is extremely quiet and relaxing and unlike the Grand Anse beach, it has black sand.

img_1400
L’Ance Aux Epines beach

So Grenada has the infamous seven sisters waterfall which is a common tourist spot. I wanted to do show something different to my brother so we decided to drive to Concorde Falls instead. These falls are in the North of the island and approximately an hour drive from True Blue. I drove to the falls and Garun drove back. I must say that I finally feel confident with my driving skills after driving on the hills and one lane roads. The drive was really pretty and we encountered different landscapes on our way from the beautiful Carenage to the mountains in the North shore. 76125563-4382-4C2A-A116-92909755497D.jpegWe arrived fairly early at the falls so there was no one there and the weather was perfect too. The water was slightly chilly but refreshing at the same time. In India, you can’t really jump into the falls or swim because there are poisonous creatures and threat of other reptiles. The good thing in Grenada though is that apart from mosquitoes and weird creatures, there are no poisonous creatures so it is safe to swim at the falls.

81026b33-3b01-4018-b82e-119c99f1d5b1
Concorde Falls

Well this was the last time I had fun. I just got done with my second hardest exam for this term(first is next month). I finally have a weekend to relax and catch up on life. Last 2 months have been crazy and I will be updating on my study habits etc tomorrow 🙂

2 thoughts on “Med school journey begins…

  1. “They serve American food and it’s pretty good for Grenadian standards” Ooooo! What does that mean? #TalkTruth.

    — Blessings

    Like

Leave a Reply

