Course breakdown for FTM/CFP

I remember when I was starting this course, I searched for every source to gain more information. There are not a lot of detailed blogs out there so I decided to focus this one to give  a breakdown for every class and I hope it will be helpful. Remember that everyone studies differently, I am just giving a breakdown of what worked for me so it may not work for someone else so it’s really important to figure out your studying habits by quiz 1. If your studying strategies don’t work in quiz 1 then change them ASAP. Do not wait till midterms because it would be too late by then.

Anatomy: I really enjoyed this class. I know i know it is a lot of memorisation but you get used to it. I made sure that I looked at a single anatomy lecture atleast 3 times in 1 week.  I used to keep white-boarding until I was able to memorise the material and I realised this was extremely helpful for embryology where I was able to summarise the entire lecture on a single whiteboard. My friend used to quiz me by the end of the week once I was done memorising and she used to quiz me again before exams. I used to mark the slides I was unable to memorise and came back to them some other time. I made a master histology sheet and also made a blank copy and I used to label it myself before exams.

  • Anatomy lab : I used to spend my Sunday evenings looking at the lab images. I used to remove the labels from the lab images and then try to label them again. I made sure I was prepared for lab and I took the printed images to lab as well. Lab and buzz quizzes are not worth much but honestly every point counts in the end so it is important to score well on them.

Physiology: This was the hardest course for me. I did not have a good start because I was not sure on how to study for it but I identified my problem post-midterm and I really got my grade up. At the beginning of the course I was clear on my concepts but I could not apply them to practice questions which was a huge issue. To resolve that, I made sure firstly I understood the lectures. I used to make a concept map on the whiteboard and then add extra information by reading BRS textbook for that topic. I used to do BRS questions after that and I also did questions from Guytan and Pre test but they were harder. Also, I tried to reason why other options were incorrect. I used to try and do 15-20 MCQs in 1 hour for every topic and realised it was OK to get them wrong, that was the whole point to make mistakes then and not on the test! In the end I just wish I had done more practice MCQs for quiz 1 as well.

Biochemistry: Whiteboard! whiteboard! whiteboard! Yes I cannot emphasise enough. You will memorise gazillion pathways, enzymes and their regulations but it’s all doable if you whiteboard because it really helps you with recall. I used to draw out the pathway, regulated enzymes, activators and inhibitors and the location of the pathway. I used to take a picture of that whiteboard and then later try to draw it out again without looking.I only  focused on the lecture slides and paid extra attention when the professor spent more time on one slide over another.

Molecular Biology: Again I would only stick to the lecture slides. I memorised the slides and made sure I looked at those tiny fonts under the images because that could show up randomly on the exam. She dropped the lowest quiz grade so I made sure I aced my quiz 1 and did not have to worry as much for quiz 2 even though that information was on the final. I also went for SL sessions for this class and I found them extremely helpful. The exams were all first order questions  which was good.

Abnormal psychology: This was my favourite class, hands down. I will also sound biased because this was my minor in undergrad but either way this class is really interesting. I went to every lecture and wrote down all the examples she gave in class and also the videos she used to show for that topic. Whenever I studied for it next time, I could hear her voice playing in my head. I memorised the medications and then made sure I knew the diagnoses and durations thoroughly. Do her online practice questions because they were helpful and used to show up on the actual exam.

So this is a general breakdown but I could answer questions on how to memorize specific topics(e.g. muscles). As I said this worked for me but not necessary would work for everyone. It is extremely important to study smartly and not just hard. You could study for 12-13 hours and still not understand a topic. If you are stuck on a topic, MOVE ON. Yes move on to  a different topic and then go back to it. Apart from that it is important to get proper sleep. I made sure I slept 7-8 hours and at least 6-7 hours before the exams. You don’t want to be tired when you are taking an 8 am exam. Anyways, I hope this will help someone and feel free to shoot me a message if you have any questions 🙂

Leave a Reply

