My Campus :)

My week 2 of Medical School has started and as expected, I am swamped with work. My first week was literally spent in lecture halls and back in my dorm room. I didn’t even get time to workout but second week is a lot more organized so I finally have a proper schedule to manage my time well.

IMG_0127

I live in Grand Anse campus which only has my dorm and the beach but the classes and other dorms are located on True Blue Campus. We have a main gate on campus which is guarded by a security guard 24 hours and we have to show our IDs every time we enter those gates. I never got the experience of en enclosed campus life since Boston University campus was well spread out. I am still exploring the different buildings. All my classes are held in one lecture hall and small review sessions are in different buildings. I think I mentioned “Top of the hill” before. Below, is the view from that hill. Those are different dorms and lecture halls. My lecture hall is located on top of the hill so I have to climb that everyday!

14034727_10157315864440054_3760694720839405895_nIMG_0135

IMG_0130
I am hoping I will get toned legs by the end of semester from climbing this several times a day! :p

I am greeted by this view and this is by far my favorite view from top of the hill. Also, don’t be fooled that I enjoy this view the whole time. I spent 9 hours in the lecture hall yesterday and when I was done, it was dark and I came back to my dorm room. So I only see this view when I am walking from one class to another but it still makes my day 🙂

Image-1

I get at least 30 minutes in between classes to grab lunch. I usually just carry my lunch and warm it up on campus. My favorite lunch spot is below and it has few tables and benches and also has 3 microwaves.

FullSizeRender.jpg
It was really bright and sunny when I took this picture!

If I don’t want to eat my prepared lunch. There are vendors on top of the hill and they usually have food from 11am-2pm or until they run out of food. I have only tried the Indian vendors but they also have salads, greek food and other options. The Indian vendor goes by the name “Patel aunty”. The food is great and she also delivers after 1pm. You can also tell her a day in advance if there is something specific you like to eat and she cooks it for you which is nice.IMG_0133

Also top of the hill has fruits and vegetable vendors on Monday-Thursday. It is way cheaper than IGA (supermarket) and someone also sells eggs on Tuesday morning. He is usually out of eggs within an hour so I still have not been able to buy eggs there but apparently you get around 30 eggs for 5USD.

Well, If I don’t want to eat from the vendors, I can go to the student center for food which has subway, Glovers and some grill place(most non-vegetarian options). It also few microwaves and it’s packed during lunch time. The gym is also located here.

Image-1 (12)
Student Center

Another good spot to eat and study at the student center with a view 🙂

Image-1 (11)

Well, when I am done eating and if I have time between classes then I like to study either in the library or Quiet study halls located in Taylor hall and other buildings. If not, then I usually go to Modica Hall which is the breeziest spot on campus and my favorite too. I just wish they had tables in Modica Hall.

Well that was my little campus tour. I go to the gym on True Blue but on the weekend I go to the gym near Grand Anse dorm located at Excel Plaza which is also free for students. Excel Plaza is a tiny mall with a Movie theater, bakery, gym, convenience store etc.

First week in Grenada I was hitting the beach(my backyard) everyday but since my classes started, I have no time and not even on the weekend but I am hoping I can start reviewing my notes on the beach. Till then, I just enjoy the view from the window outside my room

IMG_0134

If you don’t believe me that I am already swamped with work in second week of Medical School, then this picture is proof. Haha, I am just kidding. Students are always paying attention in class but this picture was taken at the end of the day when SGU decided to have an orientation session after 8 hours of classes….

Image-1

My break is over and I need to hit the books now. But I will sign out with this pretty picture  from my room which makes studying a lot easier and worth it 🙂

IMG_0126

One thought on “My Campus :)

Leave a Reply

