The Caribbean Experience begins…

I am going to start off with a rant first about my flights to Grenada. My flight from JFK was on 7th August but August 6th night was spent readjusting my luggages. It was definitely very stressful as Brian(my friend in New York) and his mom spent 2 hours helping me out. Anyways fast forward to JFK and I had no issues with Caribbean Air. I had a huge smile on my face at 4 a.m. and the attendant was super nice to check in 2 luggages and 2 carry ons and only charged $30. I slept like a baby on my first flight to Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago), oblivious to the nightmare ahead of me. It was supposed to be an 8 hour layover in POS and also you can’t check in your luggages all the way. Basically one has to exit and come back to departures for check in.

So as I arrived in POS, the immigration and customs all went down smoothly but as I exited the customs, I was hit by the weirdest rule – no trolley allowed for baggages in the arrivals area..WTF? So basically now, I had 2 big luggages, 1 backpack and 1 carry on and I couldn’t use a trolley. Anyways they had “Porters” who charged $1 per piece. As I approached Liat air they informed me that I can’t check in my luggages so early and they only allow 3 hours before the flight. This was at 11 am and my check in would not start before 6 and I had 4 bags on me! I literally sat in a corner and could not move. I was starving and finally found a porter who took my luggages with me to a subway and then got me back. Finally checked in at 6 pm and Liat air opened my check in luggages and tossed everything around. I was losing my patience now. The lady tells me my carry on is over 15 pounds and I need to check it in or empty it. I explained to her that I got it from JFK and everything was fine there. She basically refused to acknowledge anything. So I started emptying my carry-on into my luggage, and guess what? The lady tells me my luggage is now overweight. Obviously what did she expect?? Anyways, I paid $90 for that and I was done complaining and I just wanted to reach Grenada. The flight was delayed by 2 hours and I was afraid that I would have to spend the night on that airport. I finally found some people who were going to SGU and on the same boat as me (even worse), so I felt a lot better and tried to stay positive.

Anyways after 18 hours, I finally made it to Grenada and I was SO HAPPY. I can’t explain the joy I felt when I saw this sign –

IMG_7309

People at the airport were really nice and students from SGU were welcoming us at the airport as they directed us to our cabs. It didn’t take me more than 20 to get out of the airport and to my dorm. I suddenly forgot about my whole day and just promised myself that I will never fly Liat again and would rather pay more for a direct flight 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Caribbean Experience begins…

  1. Your story completely reminds me of my first trip to New Dehli, India in 1986 from Iowa, USA. Two days via the Pacific route and sleeping in the Thailand airport after 24 hours of travel, about killed me. Wow! You had a rough beginning to your new life. Stay strong. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

