Packing Madness

3 more days to NYC and 6 more days to Grenada! Phew! Last 2 months have been crazy for me, from quitting my job in May to moving out of Boston in June and then traveling in Europe and MSAP in July.

I was really worriedIMG_7279 about packing initially because I had to fit my whole life in 2 suitcases! Everyone keeps emphasizing that everything is expensive on the island.Keeping that in mind I tried to pack smart(hah). I am flying Icelandair from Munich-NYC and I am allowed to take 2 suitcases and 1 carry-on and 1 laptop bag(SWEET!) . The problem is from NYC-Grenada. I am flying Caribbean Air from NYC-POS and then Liat air from POS-GND. I have heard terrible things about their baggage policies but I had no other option since I booked my tickets so late.

 

 

I packed all my essential items in my bigger suitcase and carry-on incase the airline decides to send my 2nd luggage separately(boo!). So here is a mini list of items:

  1. Duvet, 2 bed sheets, pillow cover – I put them in a vacuum seal bag and saved so much space. I had no idea about these bags until recently. They can easily be found on amazon and here is a picture below. IMG_7275
  2. Stationary items
  3. Kitchen items – fork, spoons, knives, chopping board, pressure cooker etc
  4. Beach wear (it’s the caribbean after all 🙂 )
  5. 2 jackets and 2 hoodies(incase it gets cold in the study room or lecture halls)
  6. Tons of summer clothes, flip-flops, sandals.
  7. Makeup and sunscreen

One of my suitcases was overweight by 5kgs, it must be the pressure cooker I think. I tried to move things around and got it to 23kgs and the other one is 17 Kg. Well, I am nervous I won’t lie but I am just going to risk it.

I will finish my shopping in NYC. I just need to buy insect repellants and big shampoo bottles and other toiletries that might be expensive in Grenada. Also, I realized Indian grocery is cheaper in NYC than in Munich so I will buy all the spices and my favorite maggie noodles there as well. I will just need to buy pots, pans and utensils in Grenada.

Packing takes a lot of time and making a checklist definitely helped me. I will make another post once I get there incase I regret something I should have packed but didn’t.Now, my plan is to go to the airport at 6 am on 7th August with my cute smile and hope that the attendants are in a good mood too and my 14 hour arduous journey will be a breeze! 😀

Anyways, since I am done with packing now, it’s time to binge-watch Stranger Things on Netflix. xx

IMG_7280.JPG
ALL SET FOR THE JOURNEY!

 

 

One thought on “Packing Madness

Leave a Reply

